

NETAJI SUBHAS OPEN UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF SCIENCES

H.Q.: DD-26, Salt Lake, Sector-I, Kolkata — 700 064 City Campus: K-2, Bidhannagar Fire Station, Sector- V, Salt Lake, Kolkata-700 091 Kalyani Campus: First Floor, Academic Building, KalyaniGhoshpara, Kalyani 741235 Durgapur RC, Academic Building, Jawahar Lal Nehru Road, Durgapur, West Burdwan-713 214 Website: www.wbnsou.ac.in

Report of the Formal Plantation Programme of Medicinal Plant Garden at Durgapur Regional Centre held on 18.10.2022

An inauguration programme followed by a presentation was conducted at Durgapur Regional Centre with the students of UG Botany (HBT) of LCES-2022 on 18th October 2022 (Tuesday) from 1:30 pm to 3:00 pm by the Department of Botany under the aegis of the School of Sciences. A team comprising of Prof. Kajal De, Director, School of Sciences, all faculties of School of Sciences (posted at Durgapur RC), and Deputy Director, Durgapur RC participated in this programme. All members planted some herbs in the designated plots. Other staff members of Durgapur RC were also present. HBT learners of first year participated in the plantation programme followed by a photo documentation in the field. Total number of 960 plants (32 types) have been planted & will be maintained in the Medicinal Plant Garden in the designated plots. After that Shri Sandip Das, Assistant Professor of Botany in his presentation very aptly described the systematic position, used parts, importance of each planted herb (32 types) and present research cum thrust area related to herbology in the seminar room. Prof. Samit Ray, Professor of Botany shared his thoughts about the proper uses of herbs in our techno-savvy life to the learners. The programme was ended by the address by the Director, School of Sciences in which she spoke about the various steps of the planning and establishment of this Medicinal Plant Garden. Prof. De ended the programme by congratulating the Department of Botany for successful implementation of the project which will not only help the UG learners, but also serve as a field of research in herbology.

After this Programme, the learners were enriched with the basic knowledge of herbology and got motivated to take care of these valuable herbs which the University is going to nurture and maintain henceforth. Through this project one endangered plant species (*Asparagus racemosus*, Vernacular name - Satamuli) has been conserved in the Medicinal Plant Garden of Durgapur RC, NSOU.

8 das-



NETAJI SUBHAS OPEN UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF SCIENCES

H.Q.: DD-26, Salt Lake, Sector-I, Kolkata — 700 064 City Campus: K-2, Bidhannagar Fire Station, Sector- V, Salt Lake, Kolkata-700 091 Kalyani Campus: First Floor, Academic Building, KalyaniGhoshpara, Kalyani 741235 Durgapur RC, Academic Building, Jawahar Lal Nehru Road, Durgapur, West Burdwan-713 214 Website: www.wbnsou.ac.in

List of Planted Medicinal Plants			
Sl. No.	Scientific Name (Vernacular Name)	Family	Туре
1.	Acorus calamus (বচ)	Acoraceae	
2.	Aloe barbifolia (ঘৃত কুমারী)	Asphodelaceae	
3.	Aloe vera (ঘৃত কুমারী)	Asphodelaceae	
4.	Asparagus officinalis (শতমূলী)	Asparagaceae	Monocots
5.	Chamaecostus cuspidatus (ইনসুলিন প্ল্যান্ট)	Costaceae	(8 types)
6.	Chlorophytum borivilianum (মুসলী)	Asparagaceae	
7.	Curcuma longa (হলুদ)	Zingiberaceae	
8.	<i>Cymbopogon citrates</i> (লেবু ঘাস)	Poaceae	
 9.		Acanthaceae	
<u>9.</u> 10.	Andrographis paniculata (কালমেঘ)		Dicots (24 types)
	Ayapana triplinervis (আয়াপান)	Asteraceae	
11. 12.	Bacopa monnieri (ব্রাহ্মী)	Plantaginaceae Acanthaceae	
	Barleria lupulina (বিশল্যকরণী)		
13.	Catharanthus roseus (নয়নতারা)	Apocynaceae	
14.	Centella asiatica (থানকুনি)	Apiaceae	
15.	Cissus quadrangularis (হাড়জোড়া)	Vitaceae	
16.	Clitoria ternatea (অপরাজিতা)	Fabaceae	
17.	Datura stramonium (ধুতুরা)	Solanaceae	
18.	Eclipta alba (ভূঙ্গরাজ)	Asteraceae	
19.	Hemidesmus indicus (অনন্তমূল)	Apocynaceae	
20.	Hygrophila auriculata (কুলেখাঁড়া)	Acanthaceae	
21.	Justicia adhatoda (বসিক)	Acanthaceae	
22.	Kalanchoe pinnata (পাথরকুচি)	Crassulaceae	
23.	Mentha arvensis (পুদিনা)	Lamiaceae	
24.	Ocimum suave (শ্বেত তুলসী)	Lamiaceae	
25.	Ocimum tenuiflorum (কৃষ্ণ তুলসী)	Lamiaceae	
26.	Plumbago zeylanica (চিত্রক / শ্বেতচিতা)	Plumbaginaceae	
27.	Rauwolfia serpentine (সর্পগন্ধা)	Apocynacea	
28.	Stevia rebaudiana (মিষ্টি তুলসী)	Asteraceae	
29.	Syzygium aromaticum (লবঙ্গ)	Myrtaceae	
30.	Tinospora cordifolia (গুলঞ্চ)	Menispermaceae	
31.	Trachyspermum ammi (আজোয়ান)	Apiaceae	
32.	Withania somnifera (অশ্বগন্ধা)	Solanaceae	

Shri Sandip Das Asst. Professor of Botany

Sd/-Prof. Kajal De Director, School of Sciences